Very interesting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 01:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Very interesting

Alot of my programs shut down without notice. Also, my computer randomly restarts to an instant boot screen. When it restarts, i get a BSOD, then it restarts and boots normally.

I have a VERY interesting application log for someone if they want to peek at it. I can't figure out whats wrong with my computer. Alot of things are getting Event ID 1000, but when i looked that up, it had nothing to do with my system.

I have had BSOD erros such as

unmountable_boot_volume

bad_pool_header


there have been many. I have done a fresh install of windows twice. I have formatted 3 times. I have changed hardware twice. It doesn' make sense.
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

did you try a different HDD?
__________________

__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

When booting up to Win XP you may get a error that reads "Unmountable Boot Volume". This is probably because your boot.ini file is messed up.
So, what do you do about it, panic and try to mount your boot in your computer...... No that is probably not a good idea.

You can boot to the XP cd and when you see the Welcome to setup press the letter R
You will get a dos prompt
Then type "chkdsk /p" without the quotes and hit enter
When that is done type "fixboot" and hit enter
"Y" and enter at the prompt
Then type "exit" and hit enter
The system will now reboot into Windows

If for some reason that don't work for you, you can boot to the recovery console like above and...
Type "chkdsk /r" then enter
When done type "exit" and hit enter.
This will take longer, but the system should boot back into Windows.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

your harddrive might be dying Crysalis. what kind is it? I might have tools to check it with. backup data immediately

you can try uninstalling sp2 first and see if it goes away. some dells just do that (bad pool header)
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

hard drives are fine. Both are brand new. I've tried using both of them as the boot drive... didn't help.

I'm not sure how to uninstall sp2 because my XP cd has it already incorporated, so its not listed as an update nor can i "restore" back to another time.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You cant uninstall it. you will have to reinstall
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it might be a corrupt file(reinstalling would fix this). use your dianostic cd that came with it to be sure. I had a samsung 200 gig drive that lasted all of 5 days last week
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

the thing is is that i've done 3 re-installs. I have done all of the diagnostics i know to do. All are fine. I have formatted and installed windows 3 times now, each time on a different hard drive. I'm going to try warez monsters tips once this semester is over. Right now, i dont have the time nor can i take the risk of losing my computer for more than a few hours. I know it should be easy, but i dont doubt anything anymore. I took me a month to get my computer to accept any RAM. LOL

Anyways, i'm just really frustrated. This computer used to run like a dream. I never had ANY problems with it. Now since i had the RAM issue, i have a "newer" mobo, ram and processor (1ghz, 1gig ram). If those suggestions dont work, i'm going to attempt to try and rebuild my old system (i still have everything) with this new RAM. Maybe it will work, i dunno. I'm really quite tired of this... especially since i can't afford to even buy a new HSF!!!!
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 04:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Default

You may want to check on your cooling. If a fan is stuck or you don't have enough airflow wierd things like this tend to happen. You have a lot in there that could be running your system hot and making it buggy. It's a long shot but if your HDDs are fine this would be my next guess. Well, that or bad RAM.
JimJenkins is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

0x00000019 BAD_POOL_HEADER Invalid Pool Header. There are many reasons that this would appear. Debugging the system would reveal the cause.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.