Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2008, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

Hey, just aquired a 64bit copy of vista ultimate so the 4gb pack or ram I ordered last night wouldn't go to waste.

Right now im running windows vista 32bit.

Q1) Is there any way to install the new 64bit version Without reformatting my HD?
I REALLY don't want to back up 500gb of crap, and then spend hours re-installign the 10 - 15 games i have on here.

Q2) If so, How would I go about doing that? ^^ Is it as simple as booting with the disc and 'remove old install new'?
That would make me happy, but my luck is never that good so thats why I'm asking before I screw something up and lose my HD.

Thanks guys
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

Nop. You can not just upgrade from 32 Bit to 64 Bit. You HAVE to format and re-install.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

lovely >.> guess i'll be running 3 gigs of ram for a while XD
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
lovely >.> guess i'll be running 3 gigs of ram for a while XD
Well, just backup everything, format and install Vista x64, I would do the install overnight so it is done when you wake up. Doesnt take alot of time, you have the resources so why not do it.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark strike1 View Post
Well, just backup everything, format and install Vista x64, I would do the install overnight so it is done when you wake up. Doesnt take alot of time, you have the resources so why not do it.
If you do put 64 on make sure you back up your game saves I forgot about that last time and boy was I ****ed when I figured it out I was almost at the end of bioshock, lost everything.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

you could use Norton Ghost or Acronis or something to make an image to retain your settings, format, and reapply the image to your Vista 64bit
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 10:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

This is why you generally wan't to have a dedicated partition for the operating system. So you don't have to back up all your extra files.

Think about doing this if you decide to re-format completely.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
you could use Norton Ghost or Acronis or something to make an image to retain your settings, format, and reapply the image to your Vista 64bit
If you re-applied the image you would put Vista 32 Bit back on.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 10:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

I just upgraded my machine and ram with amd 64 fx processor and 4 gigs of corsair ram (I had only had 2 gig of buffalo ram because 32 bit is slower with 4 gigs ). I don't know about vista, but my xp 64 bit OS is blazing super fast now. I'm thinking about adding 8 gigs now. I'm going to bother MS into making more stuff compatible with 64 bit
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 10:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit to 64bit help ^_^

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark strike1 View Post
Well, just backup everything, format and install Vista x64, I would do the install overnight so it is done when you wake up. Doesnt take alot of time, you have the resources so why not do it.
Overnight? It took me like 10 minutes max to install Vista the first time.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install Nekrage Microsoft Windows and Software 13 11-29-2007 08:04 PM
Vista 32bit vs. 64bit Akubane Microsoft Windows and Software 8 09-19-2007 03:24 PM
Vista Home Premium 32bit or 64bit cub1971 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-20-2007 08:18 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.