Uninstalling XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default Uninstalling XP

Okay, my brother's computer is too slow to run XP, so he's going to reload ME on it. Problem is that he can't get XP off of his hard drive. I told him to fdisk it, but that didn't work. It told him to close all hard drive utilities and he was closing everything. What other things can he do to take it off?
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default Re: Uninstalling XP

Quote:
Originally posted by toxicity_27
Okay, my brother's computer is too slow to run XP, so he's going to reload ME on it. Problem is that he can't get XP off of his hard drive. I told him to fdisk it, but that didn't work. It told him to close all hard drive utilities and he was closing everything. What other things can he do to take it off?
If he can back up all his info, format c:
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Doesn't work. It gave the same error I posted.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U need a Win98 disk or WinME disk. www.bootdisk.com
Boot from it, and type format c:
If your partition is formatted using NTFS you might have to laod up fdisk (type fdisk) and delete the partition adn create a new partition using FAT32 file system.

I suggest you stick with XP, cause ME will get slower over time.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by toxicity_27
Doesn't work. It gave the same error I posted.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q303661/
Erich K is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

It also says that the required parameter is missing.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

WHat are your system specs. I just loaded XP Pro onto an HP pavillion with a Pentium II, 64MB of RAM, 8GB hard drive.

With a couple adjustments from a helpful member, it runs surprisingly smoothe.


Just re-iterating what Major said, download a windows 98 boot disk, delete the partitions (if theres more than one), create a new. You do this by typing

FDISK

at your A: prompt. The FDISK utility will give you all the options you need. After you repartition and reboot (i think you have to reboot), type

FORMAT C:

from the prompt and follow the instructions to format the partition you made.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.