tweaking the registry for memory performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default tweaking the registry for memory performance

I need help tweaking the registry to help my memory performance. But will it affect my ATI videocard?
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

bump dunno
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 06:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Dont forget modifyong your Registry can have devistating results. It might destroy your boot. Have you tried to adjust you XP to allow for best performance instead of best graphics. Cant remember off hand where to do that but i know it can be done.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: tweaking the registry for memory performance

Quote:
Originally posted by pdxsk8er
I need help tweaking the registry to help my memory performance. But will it affect my ATI videocard?
Are you talking about the boot up time?

To improve on your memory please read this, I have all ready writen a guide on this. Here:

http://www.technutopia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=250
TechNutopia is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to Eagleboy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Dont forget modifyong your Registry can have devistating results. It might destroy your boot. Have you tried to adjust you XP to allow for best performance instead of best graphics. Cant remember off hand where to do that but i know it can be done.
Control panel?

Display properties? (right click properties on the desktop)
__________________
-Tom
Eagleboy is offline  
Old 08-05-2005, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Go here: http://www.majorgeeks.com/TweakNow_R...ner_d4134.html and download TweakNow.

Install it and run it. It will scan your registry and pull up the entries that are "stranded" and don't need to be there.

Just follow its directions. Really easy, and its free.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.