Switching ide2 dvd to ide 1 slave ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Question Switching ide2 dvd to ide 1 slave ???

i have my hard drive on ide1 and my dvd drive on ide 2, i wanted to know if i can simply put my dvd drive on ide 1 slave without causing system problems ?
__________________

__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Yeh it should be ok, make sure that the jumpers are set right ie Master is Hard drive and slave is DVD rom. Some people think its best to leave the HDD on seperate channel so it can transfer data more quickly. But it depends on the person, I dont see a issue with it unless someone else has any pointers?
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well if they are the only two IDE devices then it is better to use seperate channels.

Otherwise it doesn't really matter.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

those are the only two ide's connected my other hard drive is connected by sata.would i noticed the read speed difference if i have the hd and the dvd on the same ide?
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.