Slow PC - Help, it's driving me mad!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2006, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Angry Slow PC - Help, it's driving me mad!!!

Please can someone help. My PC has slowed right down. It seems to be having to work hard to open programmes and take ages before it opens them.
I run Spybot regularly and don't have any more than a couple of spyware problems to fix now and then. I have Zone Alarm Pro running and also AVG, along with Windows XP firewall.
My system spec is as follows:
Microsoft Windows XP Pro version 2002 with sevice pack 2.
AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ 1.67 GHz, 480 MB of RAM.
(It says 480 MB of RAM but I had 1GB put in so I don't know why it's not saying that in my computer properties.)
I hope someone can help as I don't know what to do with it and it's driving me crazy, it takes so long to do anything. Any ideas?
Thanks in anticipation.
__________________

Jenonnet is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

dont run windows firewall if your using zonealarm pro you dont need 2 firewalls it can do more damage than good.

spybot is ok but I find it doesnt clean your comp of all spyware.

first clean your comp using this:
CCleaner
http://www.ccleaner.com/ccdownload.asp

Then download and run these:
Ad aware SE:
http://www.download.com/Ad-Aware-SE-...bj=dl&tag=top5

Ad Aware VX2 add on (To run this tool once Adaware is updated click on Add-ons in the lefthand column. Select VX2 Cleaner V2.0 and click Run Tool. Click "OK"):
http://www.lavasoft.de/software/addons/vx2cleaner.shtml

Spybot:
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html

Advanced Spyware Remover:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Advanced_...over_d4977.html

Windows Defender Beta 2 (need real copy of windows to work)
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...&displaylang=en

CWshredder(removes some browser hijackers):
http://www.intermute.com/spysubtract..._download.html

Blacklight (rootkit remover)
https://europe.f-secure.com/blacklight/

Vundofix
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4954.html

EDIT:

Also you might have too many processes at startup press CTRL+ALT+DEL and when the window appears it says processes in the bottom left how many does it say?
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default Slow Pc

Thanks for the advice baronvongogo, I'll do all your suggestions tomorrow when I've got more time.
When I pressed Ctrl+Alt+Del it said I had 60 processes running.
Jenonnet is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

its odd that its not reporting your memory size correctly, have you tried running memtest86 to eliminate the possibility of bad ram.

Dos your bios report 1gb ram at startup?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

60 processes? wow thats an awful lot, id class anything over 45 as alot so you certainly have alot of things running in the background, a fair few ones you dont need.

could you post up a pic of the screen with your processes? maximize the screen so we can see them all
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default Slow PC

How do I post a copy of my processes, it won't let me copy & paste them?
Jenonnet is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 07:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

maximise the window the one when you press CTRL+ALT+DEL click the tab processes and press the PrtScn button. Then open paint and click edit paste. A picture will appear of when you pressed the print screen button it captures exactly what your computer screen looks like at that moment.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

dude. sounds to me like your ram is bad, or your mobo dont support that much ram. i got a 1.3 ghz p3 that only takes 512, but then again i got a 500 mhz celeron that can take 1 gig, so it depends on what the mobo can support, if it supports 512, stop at 512, or you loose money/memory, or if you do, liek you said, it could report the ram wrong
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 03:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8
Default

[SPAM deleted]
tanish is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
maximise the window the one when you press CTRL+ALT+DEL click the tab processes and press the PrtScn button. Then open paint and click edit paste. A picture will appear of when you pressed the print screen button it captures exactly what your computer screen looks like at that moment.
yep, and i could probably sit here and tell you at least 15 things you dont need straight away!
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.