Safe mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Default Safe mode

how do you set a password for the safe mode admin
__________________

SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I don't think you can set a password for safe mode.

If you want secruity why not set a CMOS/BIOS password set from CMOS setup?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Right click on my computer, click manage, go to local users and groups, click on users, right click on admin, click set password, click proceed and there you go.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Right click on my computer, click manage, go to local users and groups, click on users, right click on admin, click set password, click proceed and there you go.
That works for safemode?

Ill have to try that on "other" computers.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I didnt try it but I assume it is since I didnt make the account
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

just do it the regular way when you are in safemode. control panel, user accounts, create password
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.