A program/script to start new windows explorer process?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave_100

Solid State Member
Heres the situation- I play a game has a graphical error in Win 7 unless I end explorer while playing, then its fine.

So far I have been doing this:

Starting game
Ive created a batch file that ends explorer, so thats nice and fast to end the process
After explorer has been killed, go back into game, play for half hour
Finish game, and to get explorer back- Ctrl alt del, new>task>type explorer,

Its a bit lengthy, I was wondering if there is any program out there which can remain open while windows explorer is closed, and when im ready, i can just click a button to restart explorer? or if theres a program/ script i can use to do this? any advice would be appreciated, im a complete programming noob so please speak in laymans terms relatively, thanks.

Hope this makes sense,

What game? This should not be the way it is done. You should be using Compatibilty Mode at least to get the game working properly.

Aside from that there is no program i have seen or heard about over the years that can do what you want.

Just create another batch file that creates a new explorer session.

This wil kill explorer and then restart it. You can tweak it to just start explorer.

@echo off
taskkill /f /IM explorer.exe
explorer.exe

So one click to end explorer
Play Game
One click to start explorer

3 clicks to complete this instead of 6.

Just create another batch file that creates a new explorer session.

This wil kill explorer and then restart it. You can tweak it to just start explorer.

@echo off
taskkill /f /IM explorer.exe
explorer.exe

So one click to end explorer
Play Game
One click to start explorer

3 clicks to complete this instead of 6.

thanks loads for your reply, this sounds perfect but would this work? Once explorer is closed, how do I access the batch file to open a new explorer task? all desktop icons disappear? can you think of a way round this?