Problems with a new instalation of WinXP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Question Problems with a new instalation of WinXP

I recently buy a "new" used motherboard to build a second Pc on home.
Install WinMe and all Ok, but when I tried to install Windows XP the installation freeze out and blockd out my keyboar on the blue screen of aceptation for "go on to the install stuff". (The DOS like part, b4 to have a chance to select nothing, even b4 the EULA)
I've tried unpluged and pluged back the keyboard, changing the kboard, changing the memory, re-format the HD, changin micros bettwenb machines (both of the PIII - 700Mhz - FSB 100 Mhz), changing the HD, upgrade the BIOS to a newer version and nothing. It allways crash the installation on the same place.
I start to belive that it's something about the BIOS conf, but dunno where else to look out.
The mother is a DFI-PW65E, with 192 MB of Ram and a Seagate HD of 20Gb, PIII slot 1, 700 mhz.
Anyone has any idea about to solve this problem.....?
__________________

drvennom is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

i dont think its BIOS
i guess you should free more space and check for bad sectors
'since you have an old HD'
I had a similar problem when i had only 1 GB free in my hard and wanted to install try to increase your partition size 'if you can'
__________________

__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

Have you been able to use the same XP CD to install Windows on the other computer? Or are you just installing XP on the one you have mentioned?

BTW check your XP CD to insure that it isn't scratched up or anything like that.

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

not enough RAM. Motherboard may not be compatible with XP.
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.