Problems loading games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2004, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default Problems loading games

Hello:

I'm having an issue with my computer, I have two software games one called lock on which is a flight simulator and the other is called Blackhawk down. When I try to play to play lock on the CD prompts me with a splash screen to play the game, I accept and from there the sound kicks in for the game but nothing is displayed on the screen. However if I try to start a second Instance of the game I will actually get kicked into the game and everything works just great. I have to then go out to the task manager and killl that first instance of the game which is now showing up as "not responding" otherwise with two instances of the game trying to run it uses up too many resources.

Same thing happens with the other game called blackhawk down.

I have updated my BIOS I have a P4 with 512 Megs of RAM with a
GForce 5200 128 mg graphics card.

any ideas? anyone heard of this happening before?
__________________

Spookie is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Hmm, when loading the game, so the screen go black and click?

First off, I'd recommend updating to the latest drivers for your card. They're the 61.76 for a Nvidia card. You can grab em here http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

Other than that, you've got me a bit stumped
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

I just updated the Nvidia driver as per your suggestion, rebooted and I still get the same result. It doesn't make sense to me
Spookie is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 03:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

As for your 'Lock on' game... i would try to uninstall the game, then clear out your Temp folder, delete the directory that the game was installed to and clean out your recycle bin.

Reboot. Shut down any AV software current running, and then re-install the game.

Which version of DirectX are you using?
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Hey that worked.....It also fixed my other game thanks!!!

Scott
Spookie is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Your welcome Spookie, i had a similar problem w/ TigerWood 2003 and that solution worked only for a short while before it started acting up again. I finally just got fed up w/ it and I promptly threw that POS software in the bin and kissed it goodbye.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Is better to close all Antivirus program that running while installing games of other software so that no conflict.
Moreover it can free more resources of your system.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.