Print Spooler is slooooow! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2006, 08:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default Print Spooler is slooooow!

I had thisproblem on my Windows XP pro machine here at the office and I forget what I did... Sad, but true.
When another technician double clicks on a printer it takes two or more minutes for it to open. From then on it takes the same amount of time to do anything. For example, once open if he hits "printer" from the menu it takes a while for that to drop down. Then whatever he clicks on it also takes a while. This happens on ALL printers.
At one point I remember clearing out some spoolerlog file or somewthing like that, but I completely forgot. I must have drank too much that weekend or something.
__________________

Snump is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Damnit... nobody knows?
__________________

Snump is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

well maybe try restarting the print spooler ??

click start > run > services.msc > print spooler

click stop....then wait a bit....then click start......make sure startup type is 'Automatic' as well
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

are these network or local?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 10:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

sounds like network...

Quote:
When another technician double clicks on a printer it takes two or more minutes for it to open.
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 07:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

Just check all the dependent services and see if they all have started. Also check if you have something in Print Queue. Delete all of them. Do a clean boot and check if it works fine.

Rajni
__________________

Rajni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.