Is it possible to run Mac OS 9/higher over XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2003, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to U.n.c.u.T.!
Default Is it possible to run Mac OS 9/higher over XP?

Is this possible through emulation or something? Just curious.
__________________

U.n.c.u.T.! is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

VMWare. I think that you can emulate it through it, but the software is expensive.

You can learn more about it here: http://www.vmware.com/
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 05-22-2003, 09:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Nah VMWare won't let you run MacOS. It's actually not possible at the moment since it would require emulation of the PowerPC processor. Nobody has been able to develop a PowerPC emulator fast enough to run any PPC based programs yet, let alone a complicated OS like OSX.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 05-23-2003, 02:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 17
Default

You're only shot at doing that is too have a Mac system and run Connectix Virtual Pc to run Windows
LwdSquashman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.