Is this possible? Cancel / Restore Hotkey? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2007, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Is this possible? Cancel / Restore Hotkey?

The only way I can play 720p movies of a Blu-Ray movie in my computer using Windows Vista is to LITERALLY open up task manager and canceling the sidebar, firewall, anti virus and all processes (that includes explorer.exe) leaving only my media player. Even if I change the theme to "classic" mode, the video gets VERY choppy. With the method I did above, I'm able to watch the video perfectly fine with about some 3 second frame 'skipping' every 5 minutes or so, but I can live with that.

The problem comes before / after watching the movie. I literally have to spend minutes disabling / enabling all these processes whenever I watch / stop watching the movie. The worst part is: after watching a movie, I have to restart the computer AND then change the theme settings and enable the sidebar.

Is there an automated program where I can cancel / restore all these stuff with a click of a button?
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 10:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Is this possible? Cancel / Restore Hotkey?

If you have to go thru all that to watch the movie then something is wrong. I am able to watch HD stuff with out disabling anything.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: Is this possible? Cancel / Restore Hotkey?

On Windows XP I had no problem without disabling anything. Its when I upgraded to Windows Vista that this started happening. I have nothing against Vista, in fact I suggest to use it than to use Windows XP Pro.

What is your computer specs?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sys Restore won't work Ares82 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-11-2007 02:10 PM
System Restore does not work... bagelred Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-12-2007 12:56 PM
System Restore! phantom555 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-08-2007 07:34 AM
System restore petris Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:13 AM
System Restore, Windows XP Media Center jbcohen Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-13-2007 10:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.