Need some help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default Need some help.

The other day I installed a Vista "patch" and it was good and all but i decided to remove it, i tried to uninstall it the way it told me to and it removed everything but the icons, so tried system restore, nothing, finally i repaired it using the windows xp cd and using the repair option and it was fixed, but now things have been acting diffrently, when i turn on my computer it gives me a "windows is loading settings" screen that i never had before, and it takes alot of time (about 4 mins) to finish loading.I can't hear anybody on my Ventrilo program, alot of programs crash on me and everything just runs really slow, some help would be appreciated, thanks.
__________________

Garcia is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I am guessing it was either a Vista Tranformation pack or something similar. Even thru the uninstalls they dont always uninstall correctly.

My best piece of advice for you is to try a repair install. See if that helps clear it up.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 11:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah i did the repair install and it removed vista just like i wanted it, but then things just started acting diffrently, for example, when i try to open my control panel my explorer crashes.
EDIT: Oh and now my sound doesn't work either
Garcia is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Unfortunately it sounds as if your XP install got corrupted. If a repair install didnt work then there is only one thing left to do. Save all data you want to another source and format and reinstall XP.

Sorry but i know that isnt what you wanted to hear.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah i guess i'll do that, thanks for the help though.
EDIT: I reinstalled my sound drivers and i get sound again, now the only problem that i have is that long loading screen i get when i first turn on my PC.
Garcia is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 02:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Start>Run>Msconfig>Startup Tab. Make sure only what you want to boot at startup is checked.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Ah ok thanks, but on the list i have about 4 that have no names, it's blank, what about those?
Garcia is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 08:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Look at the file path. That should give you a clue as to what they are. If they dont have a legit path, something like C:/Program Files......,then uncheck them. Or at least a path that you know from installing apps.

I would probably just uncheck them just to be sure.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Well i unchecked the unnecesarry ones but the "windows is starting up" screen still comes up and it still takes like 4 minutes to load, and i get the "virtual memory low" warning alot too recently, i guess my only option is to re-install xp again, well thanks for your help.
__________________

Garcia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.