Need help with windows virtual memory... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2006, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default Need help with windows virtual memory...

My laptop has been lagging lately and i keep getting a warning box in the bottom right corner that says my windows virtual memory is low. How do i clear more room for windows memory ? Because my laptop has been running really slow....
__________________

jushinator is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

clean out your startup entries is msconfig>startup and increase your vm
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

where do i type msconfig>startup at ? I am sorry i just have very little computer skills.
jushinator is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Start Menu the Run command.

Type in msconfig

When that window opens the startup tab.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

ok i have that window opened now what do i do ?
jushinator is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Incheck the items that you dont need running when you boot your PC. Only have the ones boot that you need.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 04:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thanks
jushinator is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 04:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

typically you only need your antivirus running, do you need help with this?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I wouldn't mess with your startup items unless you're sure of what you're doing, especially on a laptop as they often have poprietary software running features that you may well be using.

if I had your laptop in front of me i'd bring up the task manager (Ctrl-shift-Esc) and take a look at the performance tab, this shows you quite a bit of information about your memory including a graphic showing your page file usage (as a proportion of the total amount).

points of interest, physical memory total, if its less then 256M then an RAM upgrade might be in order if thats an option and if the availiable figure is consistantly less then about 5-10% of the total then more RAM would certainly be a good idea.
Commit charge, if the total is concistantly more than 75% of your total physical memory then thats another indicator that your system is RAM starved, here we can also see your limit (PF plus RAM) and your peak values, if the peak is anywhere near the limit then you want to increase your PF size, microsoft recommends a page file size of 1.5 times the installed physical memory.

If you need to alter your pagefile size, enter your system properties (right click on your my computer icon and select properties) and bring up the advanced tab, click the performance settings button then select the performance tab, where it says virtual memory click change. Set a custom size of 1.5x your RAM size or more if you have very little RAM, set both the initial and maximum size to the same value e.g. 1024.

if you are starved for RAM and updraging isn't an option then reducing the number of programs running in the background including services is a viable tactic.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.