MAJOR problems - HELP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 10:43 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

yep, could do a chkdsk w/out problem...it didnt detect any errors at all...

I edited my post above...is the program you told me to run supposed to close instantly w/out giving results?

I thought I had a built in firewall already??
__________________

justdeb is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

it should give you results...
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

it didnt...it just closed....like instantly while it said I still had like 9 mins left...

Hmmmm....that doesnt sound good...
justdeb is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

you do, but that one is horrible! try this... www.zonelabs.com

click Download and Buy on the left...then click 15-day trial...the firewall is FREE.
ECTech is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

just ran the housecall thing again..its still closing w/out showing results and it closes at 9 minutes left...

crap...gonna be one of those days it seems
justdeb is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

try running it in safe mode w/ networking
ECTech is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 11:03 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

I did that too hun..... nada.....I still keep getting the same errors. I spent 6 hours on the phone with tech support and we ran everything in regular and Safe mode..I cant even do a system restore in Safe Mode....let alone get any errors fixed.

This is starting to annoy the living **** out of me...baseball bat is looking pretty **** good right about now
justdeb is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 11:11 AM   #18 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

LoL, been there... well at this point i would say you're best bet is to reinstall. then install some security and you shouldn't have these problems.
ECTech is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 02:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

LOL - OMG I swear I wish I had the 80's back again..no computers Ahhhhhhh the good ol' days huh?

Ok..if I do a reinstall - is there a way to do it w/out backing up EVERY single thing I have on my system and totally blowing the harddrive??

I have all the discs that came with my PC - just not sure which ones to use in this instance...
justdeb is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 07:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

hey there!! long time no see, anyways, did u get this fixed yet?
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.