live messenger 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default live messenger 8

i have been using the windows live messenger 8 BETA for ages since the first UI was released, since then it has been released and i sign in and it tells me there is an update i say yes to install and it installs and i get this message when i attempt to launch the app:

the application has failed to start becuase WINHTTP.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.

since that i have downloaded it again from the live messenger 8 site and same thing happens? any advice?
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

There have been many people that have had issues with WLM. It might be due to the WLM and Yahoo merger we dont know.

Best bet try to uninstall WLM, restart and install again and see if that helps
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

have done
no joy thanks for the help though
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

If your having that much bother and you really need to get onto messenger why dont you just download one of the older builds of WLM? may or may not work, just a surgestion
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I just think its a bug in the Server. I know many people that have not been able to log in since it went out of Beta. It is a known issue with M$ yet they havent solved it. Go figure.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rochestor, NY
Posts: 102
Default

Yeah, I've had several problems too but everything seems fine at the moment.
__________________

Jordan Pardy is offline  
Closed Thread

« ftp | Reinstall!? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.