laptop RAM clocking !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default laptop RAM clocking !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

if I have a laptop that takes pc100 RAM....will it work with a higher speed RAM? I mean will it like automatically underclock it or something?
cuz I cant find any good RAM for pc100....but i see plenty of 512's for better ram...
__________________

B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

If you add a higher frequency ram with your lower ram, it will lower itself to that frequency. This being that it cant be the other way around because the pc100 cant add speed to itself but the higher ram can down grade to a lower freq.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

so your saying that my laptop would be compatible with a higher frequency RAM, simply by underclocking it?
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I'm not saying that exactly...like I have pc3200 DDR400 533mhz.
MY board will take pc2100. So if I put in a stick of pc2100, the memory will operate a the lower frequency....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via AIM to B34ST1Y
Default

well...it didnt work...and my laptop didnt accept it lol
__________________
Minneapolis Computer Repair http://altrepair.com
B34ST1Y is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Don't try to ever overclock on a laptop.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.