L2 cache - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2005, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default L2 cache

i have an ashampoo tweak xp program, and it has on option to chamge the l2 cache, as windows can someitmes detect it wrongly. it is stated as 256KB, but everyest home says it is 1024KB.

is it perfectly safe to change it? what is the worst thing changing it could do? what would happen if eversy has detected wrong, and i change it to 1024, when really it isnt?


thanks in advance
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to nmrpa
Default

i cant say what would happen but i can say this - you should probably just see what processor you have and go to a manufacture site and see how much L2 chache they say you have...its probably not worth the trouble if you do accidently screw things up!!
__________________

nmrpa is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Leave it alone. Read this if you are unfamilar with the L2 cache. Your bios automatically selects the L2 by default.

http://www.cyberwalker.net/columns/dec99/091299.html
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.