internet dead - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 07:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

log looks fine, maybe there is something wrong with your Airgo Networks, Inc.. Try uninstalling it and reinstall it
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 09:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

i think i have the solution... take ur router cd software cd that ur isp gave u and reinstall it... that should do it..
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 09:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Go to windows Update. Get the drivers needed for those devices.

They dont have to do with you ethernet adapter. But the PCI Bridge and PCI memory controller are always good to have.


That might help you to acquire your IP with your router again. Without a format.
the SM bus controller does if it a gigabit Nic card. you need it to run the gigabit network card right
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Good point Eric. I didnt think of the gigabyte cards. I have integrated nic with my drivers already available for me on my external. So i dont think of that one right away.

Either way all of those devices should have drivers and they could pose a problem. But try resetting the router first see if that helps.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Default TCP/IP Stack...

Try using an applet called WinSockFix...If you've got access to another p.c. you can download it from http://www.webattack.com/get/winsockxpfix.html

I'm not sure if this will fix your problem, let me know if it works...I've used it successfully in the past for the same type of issue.
Goldy is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 04:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Ok I no this has been pushed back a few pages so sorry for bringing it back, just thought id let everyone no my internet is now working. I took out my wireless PCI card reinstalled the drivers and now it works.

So if it wasnt a router problem was it a pc or wireless PCI card driver problem? its a pickle :S

Although now im back to using an old router because my newer one I set to WPA AES security and it doesnt work, the stupid routers reset button is too far inside! which idiot designed those i cant hit the darn thing!

anyway just to thank everyone for helping with this problem although i never really understood why it happened.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i have had my router fizzle a couple time on me also. I dont know why or how it happened. But i have had to do resets for it and then everything worked fine for me after a restart.

So why or how it happens i dont think we will ever truly know. It is one of those mystery of PC's i guess.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Well i have had my router fizzle a couple time on me also. I dont know why or how it happened. But i have had to do resets for it and then everything worked fine for me after a restart.

So why or how it happens i dont think we will ever truly know. It is one of those mystery of PC's i guess.
that use to happen to me until I started buying more expensive routers like d-link
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Well Dont think mine was a router problem because i tried 2 and same problems occured so its a PC or wireless card problem.

I spent £120 on my router about what $150- $170 so if it didnt work id be very upset
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
that use to happen to me until I started buying more expensive routers like d-link
Yeah i have a D-Link router right now myself. The Gamers special.

http://games.dlink.com/products/?pid=371&#DGL-4100

**** good router. But still some sites give me issues. But i think it is more to do with them than me. Either that or i just have to stop playing so many games. ;p
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.