Installing vista, - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2008, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Installing vista,

Well, im running XP but gonna try vista on my new computer, but when installing vista from XP from befor the format it has, you click format and it only takes like 10 secounds then it trys to say it formatted your harddrive. when i have a 250gb. but if i run the XP disc it will go into detail how i can do a quick format or a FULL long format and it clears everything off, so therefor would i need to run my XP disc and do the long format and when XP is on, just install vista and do a quick format, so then ill know my harddrive would be formatted, i just don't know why the Vista disc don't have a full format option like XP does..
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Installing vista,

The vista format fully formats my pc every time just fine.

a 3/4full 1 TB HD in under a minute. and now its working with full capacity. I figure its the only thing microsoft ever did right.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Installing vista,

just weird, with XP it takes around 2 hours to fully reformat a 250GB HD but with vista it takes like 10 secounds, i just didnt think it was doing a full reformat, just a quick one and didnt clear everything off like a full reformat would
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default Re: Installing vista,

is prolly doing just a clear MFT(i think that what it is)?
efd753 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 07:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Installing vista,

well, if i do a full reformat with XP then install XP then install vista after my drivers arnt there anymore they're gone, but if i have drivers installed on xp then i just reformat with vista and install vista, the drivers and video drivers are there meaning it didnt wipe my HDD like it should
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installing vista,

Vista does not do a full format during install. When you choose the format option it just does a quick format. This is the only option Vista has for formatting.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Installing vista,

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiZcO View Post
well, if i do a full reformat with XP then install XP then install vista after my drivers arnt there anymore they're gone, but if i have drivers installed on xp then i just reformat with vista and install vista, the drivers and video drivers are there meaning it didnt wipe my HDD like it should
Why are you installing XP, then installing Vista over that immediately? Why not install Vista and Vista only?

It's probably doing that because it's just upgrading to Vista. Just delete the partition, format, and install Vista. No need to install XP...
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 09:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Re: Installing vista,

welp never had to delete a partition manually, just always did it by the xp disc... whats a good manually way to do it, so i can just install a fresh copy of vista
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean Installing Vista on my XP computer.. Kruzz Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-06-2008 01:18 PM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
Installing Vista with 4GB installed. Neodr31 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-19-2007 02:30 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.