IE vs. Firefox - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Nah firefox Would be Peter.
Are you Opera?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 10:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

well, I installed Opera. It'll take me a little while getting used to. What's with the Widgets? weird!
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 10:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

how do I import my firefox bookmarks? Only shows me in the help how to import IE's
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 09:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.A.E. Dubai
Posts: 55
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

I always trusted Firefox but some website are still not supported by this giant..
roumieh2000 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

ie
ie
ie

message was too short if I just put ie there once
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

I use IE as well, with the IE7Pro add-on. Haven't had any problems other than a few crashes.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

I use Firefox. The frequent updates and add-ons like No Script make it so muck more secure than IE
Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IE vs. Firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by roumieh2000 View Post
I always trusted Firefox but some website are still not supported by this giant..
Its nto that. It is because of the coding that Opera uses that make the browser not supported. Opera is the only browser on the market right now that passes teh Acid2 test. It is the only browser that is trying to conform to some kind of web standards. While most sites are coded to follow IE stanrdards cause they are less than satisfactory but since most of the ppeople of the world use Windows and IE is the major browser they have to code for it.

Firefox 3 is supposed to be the 2nd browser that passes the Acid2 test for Windows. I know Safari does as well for OS X not sure if it does for Windows. Just checked it does. So Firefox would be the 3rd browser then.

IE8 is supposed to get away from these bad coding habits and start to try and conform to some of the web stnadards that are starting to form. IE8 will comply with almsot all CSS standards. Which is a big + to this point. but they still hav e a long way to go.

Firefox on the other hand is close to IE coding wise that is why most sites work there as well. It is jsut the coding of Opera is so different that is whysome sites seem "Broken" in opera when in fact that is what the sites truly look like if they were coded with the web standards that are forming for CSS and HTML.

So really IE can be blamed for the most part for the issues with website rendering. It is tough to code a site to meet the requirements of all 3 browsers. Have to code it specifically for each browser. Which is why i would like to see these standards passed. It would be easier for everyone to have sites coded just 1 way and viewed teh same in every browser.

Quote:
how do I import my firefox bookmarks? Only shows me in the help how to import IE's
How to import or Export your bookmarks - TechModo

That there shows how to import bookmarks. Sadly you will have to lead the browse function to the hidden firefox folder in your Documents and settings/app data folder (Which is hidden by default) becuase firefox does not allow for bookmarks to be exported.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox 2.0.0.9 is out Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 11-02-2007 12:33 PM
Spreading Firefox One Giant Sticker At A Time Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 0 10-24-2007 12:18 PM
Firefox 2.0.0.5 has been released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 19 07-28-2007 09:02 PM
Some Cool Firefox Tricks That Might Make You Crazy .. mantoadmire Internet Software and Browsers 0 07-25-2007 07:44 AM
Firefox 3 Alpha 4 has been released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-29-2007 10:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.