I need some help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2005, 10:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default I need some help?

Here it goes. I had been doing some video editing. I left my machine because it was taking a long time. When I came back avg virus program was on and said it had encountered a virus. I know for a fact it had not but something in one of the programs triggered some reaction because my avg wouldn't work properly. I had to shut it down. Then my pinnacle studio 8 shut down. Things weren't working properly and I had to restart. When I restarted my mouse it wouldn't work. I went to install it with my disc but everytime I put it in it went to hydravision and not my mouse drivers and software?? My usb on my dell flat panel don't appear to be working right now. I finally got my mouse to work but when I go into devices on the device page the choices keep on blinkingl. There are no yellow marks or anything. What does it sound like? Do you think I should reinstall avg? I think I may need to reinstall my ati all inwonder software and drivers. I may even need to reinstall pinnacle studio 8. Help

ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Try booting into Safe Mode, and doing a virus scan. You might have a virus that is causing these problems for you.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240

how can you be sure you dont have a virus? It could have gotten itself onto your system a while ago and have been set to activate at a later time or under a certain set of circumstances. VI
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923

As you probably know enough about computers I know someting to. This was an error in the avg program. It would not close when I tried to use it. It would not do anything. It was an error between the programs. I have run a scan with avg since and no viruses.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

I think you should try reinstalling AVG, although this does sound like a virus.

\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.