Home Edition Troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2008, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Default Home Edition Troubles

My computer originally had windows xp home edition put on it, and i still have the certificate of authenticity that has my product key on it.

I never got the windows cd with the computer so i downloaded a copy off the net and installed it, Its Windows XP Home Edition SP2.

When i put in my product key now it says its invalid, is that because it installs sp2 right off the bat?

If so, is there a way to uninstall sp2 and sp1 so its just plain home edition so i can register it?

and if not, is it even possible to get it registered with my old key if i contact microsoft? (for free that is)
__________________

ChemicalMonkey is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

You downloaded off of the net? It sounds like a "bogus copy"!

Each copy of Windows regardless of version has "it's own"! product key! To see this mess cleaned up you need to buy a full verion copy even OEM of Windows and registar that along with seeing it activated.

Other then that there's nothing else that can advised here. Once you have a legitimate full version disk you can get help here with any problems installing along with repartitioning and reformatting the drive to see a clean install. The invalid message is simply due to being a different copy of Windows where the first product key is now useless!
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

Each copy of XP DOES NOT have it's individual product key.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Each copy of XP DOES NOT have it's individual product key.
what he said...i can grab a product key off the net for SP2 and it will register just fine, but you wont be able to activate it since its most likely being used by someone else.

thats what i have done for now just to make sure it will install right, but i need a unused code to fully activate it. so eyecpc...get your facts right next time :P
ChemicalMonkey is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalMonkey View Post
what he said...i can grab a product key off the net for SP2 and it will register just fine, but you wont be able to activate it since its most likely being used by someone else.

thats what i have done for now just to make sure it will install right, but i need a unused code to fully activate it. so eyecpc...get your facts right next time :P
Exactly.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

both of you are right.

there are 40 different version of xp around. some will only recognize certain keys
but OEM will recognize most key and retail will recognize a lot. home won't recognize pro or vice versa. single won't recognize corporate key.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Each copy of XP DOES NOT have it's individual product key.
How to change the Volume Licensing product key on a computer that is running Windows XP SP1 and later versions of Windows XP
View products that this article applies to.
Article ID : 328874
Last Review : November 21, 2007
Revision : 7.2
This article was previously published under Q328874
Important This article contains information about how to modify the registry. Make sure to back up the registry before you modify it. Make sure that you know how to restore the registry if a problem occurs. For more information about how to back up, restore, and modify the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
256986 (Windows registry information for advanced users) Description of the Microsoft Windows registry


Warning The steps in the article are effective only on Volume License media. If you try these steps on OEM media or on retail media, you will not change the product key. How to change the Volume Licensing product key on a computer that is running Windows XP SP1 and later versions of Windows XP
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
How to change the Volume Licensing product key on a computer that is running Windows XP SP1 and later versions of Windows XP
View products that this article applies to.
Article ID : 328874
Last Review : November 21, 2007
Revision : 7.2
This article was previously published under Q328874
Important This article contains information about how to modify the registry. Make sure to back up the registry before you modify it. Make sure that you know how to restore the registry if a problem occurs. For more information about how to back up, restore, and modify the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
256986 (Windows registry information for advanced users) Description of the Microsoft Windows registry


Warning The steps in the article are effective only on Volume License media. If you try these steps on OEM media or on retail media, you will not change the product key. How to change the Volume Licensing product key on a computer that is running Windows XP SP1 and later versions of Windows XP
What's this about?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

The information provided by Microsoft there is for legal changes on the more corporate not OEM or retail products for seeing the product key changed. You still have to go through MS for that. Plus there are now bogus versions of XP to watch for.

Buying your own full install version always works out the best anyways. For valid downloads online you should order a hard copy on cd that will include it's own key there. That is seen more with prepaid Vista upgrades however.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Home Edition Troubles

I've downloaded an OEM Home disc from the 'net b/c I needed one for my HP a while ago, and it works fine... Used it to restore several PC's at work even... Just read comments about what you're downloading and you'll be fine .
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Try Microsoft Windows Home Server for 120 Days Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-04-2007 07:13 PM
Sony VAIO Desktop - Windows Home Edition Problems KugarWeb Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-12-2007 01:01 PM
Bonds slugs No. 756 to pass Aaron as home run king Osiris Off Topic Discussion 20 08-14-2007 03:56 PM
Home networking troubles Evolution556 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-30-2007 01:52 AM
How do I limit internet access on a limited account on Windows XP Home Edition? gmanr26 Internet Software and Browsers 3 04-02-2007 10:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.