help! my windows wont load on boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2004, 03:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415

just to comment on iron crosse's statement, bios settings r stored on a PROM chip on the mother board and formatting the HDD isnt going to reset those (what a pain in the a** if isnt even gonna fix it) if the bios is the culprit but since that was the last thing installed and having a messed up bios will definitely cause a no boot situation, i would flash the old bios back in (perhaps u got the wrong update or someone messed up and its not compatible with ur mobo, regardless put it back the way it was when it was working correctly) reset all the bios setting to default and auto detect everything and tweak everything back so it all works rite.
it could always b a hardware problem too. such as the HDD or memory or something decided to crap out at the same time u updated, unlikely but possible.

Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 04:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11

which windows we have

puneetrajput_23 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 07:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u

getting back to the older bios version is the best way around... try flashing it back to the older version.... i'm sure you have the disk that you backed up with the BIOS settings before loading the upgrade for BIOS.
param4u is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 11:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

If the motherboard is newer you might be able to clear the bios with a jumper pin on the motherboard and it will reset.You need to unplug the computer first then look in your motherboard book and find which pin it is.Change the jumper and then change it back and your bios will be restored.Not all motherboards have this option but most newer ones do. Good luck Pat S.

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.