HELP ME!! LiteStep Killed My Computer!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2004, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Exclamation HELP ME!! LiteStep Killed My Computer!!

Help me! I just installed a theme called iDesk2 from wincustomize.com, and out of nowhere my computer locks up! But when i restart it, it tells me that it couldent load a module and to please contact the manufacturer!! So i click out of it right, but nothings there! no startbar, NOTHING!! I can't even right click on the desktop! All i can do is press Ctrl+alt+Delete and it shows a list of open programs! THAT's IT!!

HELP!!
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U are using Win98 right?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Yeah..."

[most desparate look on face] Yeah. [/most desparate look on face]
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

98 doesn't support themes.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Crying to death..."

Is there any set of keys i can press to open a browser window? ANY BROWSER WINDOW????? PLEASE HELP ME!!
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

if you are using xp. boot from cd

press f2 for auto system recovery



Command - Function
Chkdsk1 - Checks disks for errors.
Diskpart - Creates and deletes partitions.
Extract2 - Extracts files from compressed .cab archives.
Fixboot - Writes a new boot sector.
Fixmbr - Writes a new master boot record.
Help - Lists the Recovery Console commands.

these are some of commands

Fixboot might help you

and help
there is a command to restore missing files.I forgot what it is called

I had the same problem B4, installing a boot screen. At least yours boot up.

i used that command (the one i forgot) to fix my computer
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

he has 98 though
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

oh
I am not an expert on 98, but you might have to reinstall
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "...Thanks...."

Thanks for all your help, but i fixed it now. Lucky me that LiteStep has a feature that allows you to run a program, by pressing CTRL+alt+F1, and desplays a little dropdown menu that has features where you can refresh, or quit a LiteStep theme. The one i found paticularly useful, was tha option that sais: Run.... I was able to run a shortcut to a Dos command that was on the desktop that said: "Set Explorer as shell". Thank you for all your help, and i'll NEVER use LiteStep again!!!
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.