Help formatting, please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 04:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

ill have another look, it never prompted
__________________

Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

Nope this is all i have, this is a link to a screenie of exactly what comes up, oviously is not mine,

Bis boot menu
__________________

Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 08:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

post a shot of advanced and main
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 02:43 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

This is my main menu, is not the same version but is exactly what i have,

Main

Advanced menu
Advanced
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Unhappy

Any more ideas ? Thanks for the help so far
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 11:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

i have reloaded older versions of winxp and never had that trouble though ???
snypercore is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

Thats what it says, i cant get past it
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

thats a screenshot of the exact error from my own pc

Win error
Kyzou is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

make sure the windows xp cd isn't a dell... because i had a similar problem and i couldn't boot off the xp cd because dell made it only compatible with dell mobo's... and if that doesn't work, then make a 98 boot disk, and stick it in there... the choose the option 3 and delete everything... then click option 1 and create 1 main partition... and it should make it active automaticly... then when says restart press esc like it says and then type in format c: instead of fdisk... and then boot off the windows xp cd..
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 51
Default

This will sound lame but any chance some one cud give me a guide or a detailed step by step to make sure im not doing it wrong, thanks
__________________

Kyzou is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.