Have lost Admin privlages - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2005, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default Have lost Admin privlages

I am a single user of the machine in question, I am or thought I was the administrator for my machine and three others in my home, two of which are connected wireless.

I have tried every suggestion that I have come across, including booting in the safe mode, and still can't make the administrator show up. It'll ask for a password and when there isn't one I hit the wall.

There was no admin password set, none set for the primary user, me. I have had the ability to be the admin until recently.

The machine is running XP Pro srv pk2 and has been running nearly 3 years 7/24.

Everytime I try anything from trying to install renewed virus software, to changing user settings in the registry I keep getting Access is denied.

Any suggestions??

John
__________________

jowilker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Your profile could be corrupt. Did you try making a new users? Can you not get in the admin account when you go into safe mode?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

There should be a build-in administrator account and at the very begining of installation you should had made another account in administrator group. Can you go into computer management in administrative tools?
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I bought the machine from a friend of mine that sell computers, he specked out the machine, because my P233 was struggling to keep up. I furnished him the software and he loaded it. We as suggested didn't run passwords. The machine is set for auto logon. I can not force the administrator to run in either safe mode or real time.

I used to have admin priviliges with my JW account, don't know why that stopped. I can change things outside of the program files, but am denied access for anything inside program files.

Law, I have tried to run recover console and have no password to enter and after the 3rd try, I'm out the door.

I tried to make one of those floppy boot disks and it says to put a disk in the A:\ whe there is one in there.

John
jowilker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 02:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Yea you do need the administrator password for recovery console...is there any ways that you can get into the control panel, administrative tools, computer management?
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Yes Sir, I can get in there, ......and look

John
jowilker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Ok go into local users and groups click on users. You should see accounts and the administrative. You could reset the password.
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Oh I can do all of that. Thing is, I can do it but when I click ok, I get this little error message

Access is denied.

John
jowilker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

DAMMIT.....well I knew in my head it wouldn't let you anyways but just wanted to try. One last thing, can you use system restore.

Honestly, I think someone or something got into your computer administrative account and set a password on it and change you to the users account. So your current account is limited.
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Don't know, That is one thing that I have never tried.

What kinds of things could I expect to loose if I used it?

John
__________________

jowilker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.