Games freeze - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2004, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default Games freeze

Hello, I had a really old slow and small packard bell PC that would play games, not the best but worked. Now I have this PIONEX junk going with a K6-2/500 cpu, M5ALA board, 160 of dimm, 1 12gig HDD and 1 6gig HDD. The 2 games I tried on it freeze the thing up right away, nothing works or moves, can't end program with key board but background music keeps playing. I have to hit the reset to get it going again. The pile of junk works great other wise after putting in 2 more fans,[5 total now], any one have any ideas? They worked on that really weak packard bell, So I figured games would work much better on this thing but I was wrong. I thought the AMD K6-2 was supost to be good for games when it was introduced? TomW
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
paintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Default

Run spybot and adaware maybe that will help.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns·G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP
________________________

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 03:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Be sure to check for updates on spybot and adaware.
SkittDizzle is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 04:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I have spybot S-D installed and also have the latest version of spyware killer saved to floppy disk, which one do you think is better?
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 04:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Hi again, I ran the spybot with updates and it found a couple things, I then removed spybot and installed the latest version of spyware killer and it found 23 things on it. So can I assume the spyware is the better program?
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Is your version of DirectX up-to-date?
BTW: DirectX 9.0b is current version
Equuleus is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

check what version directx the card handles. also what games and what vid card and what directx ver
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-17-2004, 12:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

The NHRA drag racing game wants directx7, machine has directx9 on it. Vid card is i740 [apollo7400]. I will have do some reading in the vid card book. Tom w
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 07:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

does one need spybot if you have norton antivirus and norton internet security installed.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-18-2004, 06:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, adware is not technically a virus so most will not find it. Its still better to have an adaware program to run along with Nortons or some similar software.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.