free dvd codec - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default free dvd codec

anyone know of a good dvd codec? which would allow me to play dvd's on my pc.

thanks, trif.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

You didnt get one with your dvd drive?

If not then just torrent

I got cyberpower from my dvd player though
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

i got a oem dvd/cd-rw drive


edit: where would i get it from , i cant find it at download.com
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

wmp 10, real one 10
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

windows media player requires the codec.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

would help to know what brand dvd u got
jaksback is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
btv
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaksback
would help to know what brand dvd u got
no it wouldn't.
it's all the same format(mpeg2).

installing a dvd player like power dvd or windvd will install the codec,but they're not free.
never tried it,but you can http://www.videohelp.com/tools?tool=MPEG2_Codec
i do agree with the statement saying not to use wmp.the player doesn't like the codec.it will crash the player and you have close the .exe by ctrl+alt+delete
btv is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 04:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

i got a 30 day trial of the nvidia codec. i will look into buying one on the 10th of feburary.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 09:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to kirkmears Send a message via Yahoo to kirkmears
Default

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

here's a nice little free program to solve all your media player issues...
__________________
PW5 64, E6300@2.8, X1900XT, (5) 74GB RAPTORs, 2GB Corsair XMS800, ATI HDTV Wonder, DELL 30\"
kirkmears is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 10:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
windows media player requires the codec.
10 wasn't suppose to, from what I understand. I know 9 and before did. I could be wrong
__________________

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.