EMERGENCY! I need to reformat my computer and install Windows XP!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default EMERGENCY! I need to reformat my computer and install Windows XP!!

Hey guys. I'm only 14 years old and I'm not a computer expert.

I tried to change my BIOS to boot from my Windows XP cd, but it would say press any key to boot from CD, and I would, and then just plain old Windows XP would load up.

I NEEDED THE BLUE INSTALL THING, so I could Delete my Partition, but I couldn't get into the Blue Install screen.

So I let it load into normal Windows XP, inserted the CD, and clicked "Install Windows XP" and did "New Installation"

Now it won't let me Delete the Partition because "Setup is unablet to perform the requested operation on the selected partition. THis partition contains temporary Setup files that are required to complete the installation."

I think that is because I did it from Inside of Windows XP initially.

So now... it always goes to this screen whether or not the CD-ROM is in the drive ... I can't even get back to my installed Windows XP

and I don't want to install on my current Partition.

I don't have a Floppy Drive. I do have a Cd-Burner on my other computer.

I think I need a Bootable Partition Manager, or reformatter or something.

Please help (a step by step would be even better. Remember please that I am a computer noob lol)
__________________

rocket1406 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Boot Bios to CD\DVD and then insert CD and then Foloow instruction
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

It is. It goes to the Windows XP setup screen but I can't delete the partition because "Setup is unablet to perform the requested operation on the selected partition. THis partition contains temporary Setup files that are required to complete the installation."

Is there a CD-R bootable partition deleter or something that I can use?
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i think your hard drive is toast.

have you tried other operating systems? 2000, 98, ME?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Which is the best setting of DBAN for reformatting?

I have a 200 GB SATA drive.
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

no i mean when you boot from CD you delete ur partition but you cant do it from windows
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Can I use Darik's Boot and Nuke Cd-R?

Can you teach me how to use DBAN?

Which settings and stuff is right for me?

And then after I run it, I can immediately just put in my Windows XP Pro OEM cd right? and it will create the proper Partitions at the blue screen?
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 12:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Wipe Methods

Quick Erase
Canadian RCMP TSSIT OPS-II Standard Wipe
American DoD 5220-22.M Standard Wipe
Gutmann Wipe
PRNG Stream Wipe

Is the Quick Erase option good enough for me (a normal user)?

Also, after I do that, I can just put in my Windows XP Pro OEM cd?
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 12:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Also, how long does DBAN Quick Erase take ? I have a 200 GB Hard drive... approximately?
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 01:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

*******FDISK Tutorial*******

FDISK Tutorial


The Basics of Fdisk:
Primary partitions are the only one that are bootable. They're always the C: drive when active. Normally you can only have one (more with some special tricks etc.) Extended partitions are needed when you want more than one partition. You can only have ONE Extended partition. Logical Drives come into the Extended partition. They are handy since you know that you can only have one Primary and one Extended so you can get more than only two partitions. They would be your D:, E:, etc. drives.

First you need to reboot your system with the Boot Disk inserted.

1.At the A: prompt start "FDISK."

2.If asked to use Large Disc support say Yes.

3.The first screen looks like this:

Create Dos Partition or Logical Drive
Set Active Partition
Delete Partitions or Logical DOS Drives
Display Partition Information
Change current fixed drive. (In case you have two or more Hard Drivess)
So, to prepare you hopefully did a backup from your data. You did, didn't you ?!

4.Next we need to remove the existing partitions. So go to 3.

5.Next screen like this:

Delete Primary DOS
Delete Extended DOS
Delete Logical Drives
Delete Non-DOS
Delete always in the following order

Logical (All) > Extended > Primary (Last)

6.Go back to first screen after all partitions have been removed.

7.Now we need to setup our new partitions. Go to 1.

This screen looks like this:

Create Primary DOS
Create Extended DOS
Create Logical DOS Drives
Here we create in the following order

Primary > Extended > Logical Drives.

8.First create the Primary. If asked to use all space say No and enter the amount you wish for the C: drive. It should be set automatically to be the (only) Active partition. If not it may ask you or you have to select "2. Set active partition" from the main menu.

9.Next create the Extended Partition. Use all space left.

It probably advances automatically to the next step, creating the Logical DOS Drives.

10.Enter the amount you wish for the D: partition and than the rest for the third partition.

Think first about the size for the partitions.

OK now we're finished with FDISK so just exit it. Next you need to reboot with the disc still inserted and Format all partitions (the C: partition might need to be formatted with "format c: /s", check the Win95 tip). Another reboot and you can go ahead and install Windows.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.