Dual Booting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2007, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Dual Booting

Does anyone in TF dual boot XP and Vista? If so, how is it different from other cases?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Dual Booting

You will want to grab another 1gb of the same memory to deal with the added feature seen in the new version. There's no longer a recovery console used for repairing any boot problems seen if you boot with the install disk. It has an automatic repair tool for that and some other things. You now can resize and even reformat partitions when booting from the disk. But it's new and needs some bugs like better drivers for the moment.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Dual Booting

any other opinions, i like the first response alot, props
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 03:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Booting

I have Dual Booted XP/Vista since Vista was in Beta. I have not had any problems nor have i had any complaints. I have strictly used Vista since it was RC1 and only go Back to XP for very rare occassions. I have found working applications on Vista that meet or exceed the XP conterparts.

The boot thing is a problem, but EasyBCD fixes all those. As for the Recovery Console...meh never used it anyways. I still use Acronis and Diskeeper for all that stuff anyways.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Dual Booting

EasyBCD doesn't fix everything and Vista no longer has the recovery console as seen in 2000 and XP. What Vista offers now when booting with the install disk is a set of automatic repari tools. The main problem is no longer having the add/remove Windows components option seen in the control panel's add/remove programs.

I ran RC1 shortly to see what the version looked like and simply waited until the retail release. Most complaints heard are about gaming in Vista more then anything else except being the new version out.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Dual Booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
I have Dual Booted XP/Vista since Vista was in Beta. I have not had any problems nor have i had any complaints. I have strictly used Vista since it was RC1 and only go Back to XP for very rare occassions. I have found working applications on Vista that meet or exceed the XP conterparts.

The boot thing is a problem, but EasyBCD fixes all those. As for the Recovery Console...meh never used it anyways. I still use Acronis and Diskeeper for all that stuff anyways.


does easybcd remove the bootloader? I have to boot my hdd's from the bios so I won't see the vista bootloader
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Booting

Yes EasyBCD can also remove hte Vista Bootloader. So if you ended up taking VIsta off you can use this to get rid of your Vista bootloader.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 09:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Dual Booting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Yes EasyBCD can also remove hte Vista Bootloader. So if you ended up taking VIsta off you can use this to get rid of your Vista bootloader.
I want to load xp and vista. I just hate rebooting xp and it will automatically go back to vista as the vista bootloader always shows up. the way I have it now, I don't see a vista bootloader as I Have vista and and it's boot info on it's own harddrive and I have xp on it own separate one. I just have to boot off the bios to get to the other OS.

I'm wondering can easy bcd let me load xp and vista and I don't have to see that vista bootscreen?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 06:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dual Booting

I think you can load up both with a different boot loader. I know that he has his own Gub to use. I think you could be able to use the XP loader. Not sure. You would have to head voer to neosmart.net and ask CG yourself for that answer. He would know better than me what EasyBCD is fully capable of.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 06:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Dual Booting

If you want XP and Vista as totally separate OSs then you would unplug the XP drive when installing Vista on the other. Otherwise the Vista boot loader and other files are copied to the primary drive with it's own boot loader as the default. EasyBCD allows you to set XP as the default OS to boot while still seeing the initial Vista boot screen.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
Dual booting XP and Windows Vista squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 0 04-22-2007 10:24 AM
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM
Dual Boot XP and Vista jasonhtml Microsoft Windows and Software 24 04-05-2007 01:17 AM
getting rid of a dual boot screen? TimBlanchard Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-04-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.