Do You Beleive in Ram Clearers??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Exclamation Do You Beleive in Ram Clearers???

I have Ram XP Pro 1.40 which was one of pcwords best utilities what do you think aboput it or other Ram Clearers??? And how about Win Patrol is that good???
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Wouldnt bother using them. Waste of space in my opinion. The progs say they release the ram, then it goes right back to where it started most of the time. You want to keep your ram at a minimal usage? Add more ram and keep programs from running in the background that shouldnt be running and increase your vm accordingly to the size of your hdd.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i dont like ram clearers because afterwards it just needs to load more stuff from hard disk anyway, what i do is delete all the prefetch files every so often and that seems to speed things up.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Do You Beleive in Ram Clearers???

Quote:
Originally posted by MikePB3
Do You Beleive in Ram Clearers
yes, it's call rebooting.
EricB is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

cacheman seems to work reasonably well for me, I still don't beleive in them though. I would rather reboot
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would just close some programs or services you don't use/need (like messenger, indexing, language bar, machine debug manager)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 10:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to justinh
Default test

~
justinh is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: test

Quote:
Originally posted by justinh
~
if you're gonna test something, at least make the post meaningful
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 11:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

i use Rambooster its help a little wen the hole comp slows down i run it and it usally clears some ram
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.