disc cleanup not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2004, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default disc cleanup not working

I dunno if this si the right section to put this under but o well, the disc clean up program that comes with your computer to delete all the temp file and other undded crap isn't working... like when u lead it it lets u pick the drive u wanna clean up or wahtever but tehn when it's calculating how much stuff u can delete it stops when it's seaching for compressed old files... i left it on for half na hour and it stayed in that exact spot... anyone kno how to fix this?
__________________

DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

How is the program called?

or do u mean the button in internet settings?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default

no the actual program called disc clean up... under accessories in the start menu
DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

ow.. well.. it can take some time... how often do u use it?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Why not just choose an alternate route? Manually delete the temp files and cookies, or use Internet Explorer. Go into Internet Explorer, and click Tools up top, then Internet Options... then Delete Cookies, and Delete Files. There are also several file wiping programs that are used for this. I'm sure if you ran a search in google or www.downloads.com you'd come across something. You may also want to just try rebooting your machine. That may do the trick.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Default

i use the program about every 5 days
DoinTimeSublime is offline  
Old 11-05-2004, 10:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I agree with Rizinc4. Do it manually through IE. Also, if you haven't done disk cleanup for a while, it will probably take some time before it figures out how much space can be saved. Try leaving it on for longer.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
npp
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Yes, if you havent used it for a while, it can take a LONG time.
npp is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 02:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

1. Click Start, and then click Run.
2. Type regedit in the Open box, and then press ENTER.
3. Locate, and then click the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\VolumeCaches
4. On the File menu, click Export, and then click Desktop, type VolumeCaches in the File name box, and then click Save.

Note This step creates a backup of the VolumeCaches registry key. If you experience any problems after you complete the steps that are listed in this procedure, you can use this backup to restore the VolumeCaches key to its original state. To restore the key, double-click the VolumeCaches.reg file on your desktop, and then click Yes.
5. Expand the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\VolumeCaches
6. Delete the Compress old files registry key.
7. Quit Registry Editor.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 10:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Default

A quick solution is to use the Divide And Conquer method:

Check half of the boxes of items to cleanup, then go thru it.
Go Back and do other half. If you lock up only on one half, cut that half into two more halfs or do it one by one.
__________________

JSchenk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.