Directx related monitor hum?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2006, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default Directx related monitor hum??

My monitor seems to make a high pitched hum when running 3d applications, so I did diagnostics in dxdiag and it only starts when testing directx9 support, could this be anything to do with EMI or anything?
__________________

dakta is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

3200+ amd
Radeon 9800se
1 gig ram
Phillips 107E 17" crt
__________________

dakta is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe it is related to high refresh rate. My monitor does the same if I set it at 1152x864 @ 100Hz, but 85Hz works fine.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

well i'l just have a quick look through the varios res's and refresh rates gimme a moment
dakta is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

couldn't get the problem to show up again, however it only ever shows up when playing games or intense graphics, even though res's have been set as low as 800x600@60hz?
dakta is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I highly doubt it is because of DirectX. It is next to impossible.
Few things you should try:
-set a white background, everything as bright as possible
-set a black background, everything as dark as possible
-try this at different resolutions and refresh rates
-degauss your monitor
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 08:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

well yeah dunno how software can interfere with a monitor but its what seems to be happening.
dakta is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

If it really turns out that way, try replacing the graphics card or PSU. Or just connect the monitor to a different computer and play the same games at same settings.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 08:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

cheers bud
__________________

dakta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.