Direct 3d Draw drivers? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2006, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default Direct 3d Draw drivers?

ok so heres my problem. I would like to play a game on my computer but it won't play it. It states that it"cannot initiate d3d" so it will not start. I know the computer will play other games(such as cs) but it would be great to be able to play on two computers next to each other. What do i need to do? download new drivers? Or is this computer even meant to have 3d acceleration. The computer is a sony vaio model pcv-rx753.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg johns pc stuff.jpg (15.0 KB, 54 views)
__________________

lastshot is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Re-install DirectX 9.0.

Make sure that your video card is DirectX 9.0 compatible
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 11:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

how can I check to see if my video is dx9 compatible if it's onboard? And i just downloaded and installed dx again without a hitch....
lastshot is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default

First, download your video cards newest driver and install.

How old is the video card/computer?

Also, check under Display Properties - Troubleshoot and make sure your Hardware Acceleration is not at "None."
__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 01:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

His computer is a Pentium 4 2.0 Ghz, 60GB HD, 512MB RAM, SIS 650 Integrated Graphics.


I'm going to guess around 3-4 years old.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 11:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

Yep, The computer is from early 2002, I looked for drivers but it siad none were found that were more recent.

It says the chip does have 32 mb's of memory, and in the "about my computer" section in the manual, it states it does support "high powered 3d graphics"... i dunno about high powered but I do know that it would meet this requirment (VGA Video Card DirectX compatible video card with 8MB video memory, DirectX 8.0 or higher) if I could get the 3d working...

I also checked under Display Properties - Troubleshoot, and the hardware accel is at none, any other ideas?
lastshot is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default working

here it is...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pc stuff! d3d.jpg (40.1 KB, 44 views)
lastshot is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 12:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The video chipset probably doesn't support DX9.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 02:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

ok, so now that direct 3d draw works for dx7 and dx8, Installed the game. Heres The problem. A) on the settings screen, the area where i am supposed to fill in the screen resolutions has no options, B) when i start the game i get this error message. What does this mean? I know my direct 3d draw works, but why won't the game recognicze it?( the gameonly takes up 8 mb's or video memory, and I have 32) This did not happen with my other computer.....
lastshot is offline  
Old 11-05-2006, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
lastshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westchester, Ny
Posts: 203
Default

and heres the error message...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error message.jpg (7.5 KB, 37 views)
__________________

lastshot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.