computer as telephone - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2004, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Default computer as telephone

How do I make it so that I can use my computer as a telephone (not as a telephone through the internet, but just like a normal one)? Like, is there an application I need to get? -or- Do I hook the telephone line up to my modem or what?
__________________

purplepots is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

to use your computer like a normal phone connect your phone line to the 56K modem and use a headset with a microphone or you can get the mic separately. these plug into your sound card inputs.

there is also something called internet telephony that lets you use your internet connection and a headset /w mic to call somebody through the internet.

you can also use the modem to send faxes for free with some websites. you can even use your scanner to send pictures with faxes.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 04-12-2004, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 66
Default

If you want to use it instead of your normal phone plan you can use VoIP (Voice over IP(Internet Protocal)). There are a wide range of plans most of which are in the $20 range for unlimited US calling. You will get a standered telephone number. Two plans to check out are from vonage.com and voicepulse.com .
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.caldera.com\">litigious bastards</a>
whiteknight is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Default

If you have a dial-up modem installed, you can probably connect a normal phone directly to the modem. (The "other" phone plug on the back of the modem marked "Phone"). It's just a parallel jack. You cannot use the phone at the same time your on the net. If you order an ISDN connection form your carrier, you can use the phone at the same time you are connected to the internet. If you want to use an IP phone, you need a LAN card, and specific software.
JohnM is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Yeah, I want to use the non-internet type and I have dsl but I also have a modem on my computer. Is there any special software I need?
purplepots is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
Default

No just use the phone dialer that is under accessories, communications in your start menu!
__________________
Alienware Area51-M Laptop Blue 16.1in screen
Pentium 2.8gzh 1024MB Ram 60Gb 7200rpm HD
DVD-RW ATI 9600 128MB
Techie23 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Techie23
No just use the phone dialer that is under accessories, communications in your start menu!
Ummm, I don't think it's in there.
All I can see under communications is: HyperTerminal, Network Communiucations, Network Setup Wizard, New Connection Wizard, and Remote Desktop Connection.

I currently have Windows XP
purplepots is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 66
Default

Home or profesioanl?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.caldera.com\">litigious bastards</a>
whiteknight is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by whiteknight
Home or profesioanl?
Windows XP Home
purplepots is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 66
Default

Only Proffesional has the built in Phone tools but I am sure you can get an equivelent software package somewhere else.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.caldera.com\">litigious bastards</a>
whiteknight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.