computer restart - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2003, 01:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kboy
Maybe it's the "MSBLASTER" Virus?
and im pretty sure he would of mentioned it
the 60 seconds until restrat
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 01:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Default

I had this same problem with my Athlon 950, the bios that comes standard with AMD processors will force it into a shutdown when the temp goes over 50degrees C. Your two realistic options are to either change the amprage of the processor ( very hard and complicated) or install two case fans, an intake and an output (very easy and worked for me, about $25 and 10 minutes of work).
__________________

gordon-guru is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 08:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gordon-guru
I had this same problem with my Athlon 950, the bios that comes standard with AMD processors will force it into a shutdown when the temp goes over 50degrees C. Your two realistic options are to either change the amprage of the processor ( very hard and complicated) or install two case fans, an intake and an output (very easy and worked for me, about $25 and 10 minutes of work).
yeah or you change the temperature at wich the pc should shut down
mine is set @ i think 70

AMD's are pretty good processors for high temepratures so it shouldn't hurt them....... much

neways that or indeed put more casefans in
Terrean is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 09:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Yeah, I forgot about the Timer Countdown
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 06:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

Hi chart47, you may try this:

Control panel | Performance and Maintenance | System | Advanced | Startup and Recovery (Setting) | Automatically restart
Traudong is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 07:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Talking

I appreciate all the help everyone has given me. I'm sure it's just the settings in the bios but I'll have to check them. in either case the temp is pretty stable at about 54 degrees C. I just couldn't emagine it actually being the cooler isn't enough considering it hasn't done this until recently.
chart47 is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 11:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

54c shouldn't cause the PC to reset unless it's set in the BIOS to shutdown at that setting. But it would shutdown and not do a restart.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 01:23 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

mine restarted, never fully shut down and never turned back on
-from my personal experience
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 10:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Smile My own experience

I have an IBM x21 subnotebook and i was installing all kinds of programs that oneday it just failed on me and would often restart by itself and it worsely won't allow me to connect to the internet. I had thought it was due to cpu being over heated, bios problem or hardware problem, or virus or adware in my computer. IT WAS NONE OF THAT.. i started to uninstall all programs one by one i had previously installed and making note of restart activity. Then i found the problem, it was a program called System Internet Washer pro with attached cracked was bug here. Today its been 1 week since i last removed the program, my laptop can finally breathe free.
__________________

frank727 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.