Computer not recognizing all Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2007, 03:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to tctuner83
Default Computer not recognizing all Ram

I have a sony PCG-FRV26 notebook. It originally came with 512 mb of ram. 2-256 sticks pc2100. I know that I can upgrade the notebook to a gig and I did this using 2 512 sticks that are rated at 2700 but will also work at 2100. I check bios and it says that the computer has like 492 mb or something around there. It's the same thing when I check in windows itself. I tried each stick individually and I get 192 mb from each stick. Not really sure why it won't recognize all ram. I ran a Pc Wizard 2007 and that showed that I had Gig installed. Definitely not right because the computer is just as slow as before.
__________________

tctuner83 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

Since it's a laptop, some of the memory is being used by the integrated graphics chip.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to tctuner83
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

I tested each individual 512 stick and the bios and my computer properties only recognized 192 mb. With both sticks in only about 482 mb. I have the video memory set to only take about 64 mb of the memory.
tctuner83 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

hmm, I don't know then... the only think I can think of is to double check the video memory amount....
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 05:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

old mobo. try updating bios
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 12:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

Should be integrated graphics taking some memory away.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 12:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

again

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
old mobo. try updating bios
updating the bios might work. it might not
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to tctuner83
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

I checked to see how much video is being shared and it's only 64mb.
tctuner83 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

R U 100% sure that you bought sticks of 512mb? Sounds more like they are 256mb.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer not recognizing all Ram

Again do as Eric suggested. Yes your integrated GFX will take away RAM. But since your system in not recognizing it at all in the first place it doesnt concern the GFX. You have to update your BIOS.

then your system should fully recognize the RAM and then you should ahve your 1GB minus the 64MB being used by GFX.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.