Computer froze? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default Computer froze?

Alright i was on the internet everything seems to operating properly when my computer just freezes, the mouse wouldnt move and the keyboard wouldnt work. This has happened twice now in the last two weeks. It has really got me woried since my computer is practically brand new. Any help would be great. Thanks.
__________________

dlb is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to cpuelite Send a message via Yahoo to cpuelite
Default

scan for viruses and spyware
__________________

cpuelite is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Yes i did a spyware scan and virus scan this morning. The virus scan didnt come up with anything.
dlb is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Run these two programs to check for errors on the ram and stability of the cpu.

memtest86+
prime95
brinks is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

I really dont know anything about computers could tell me how to run those programs.
dlb is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup click disable all but recheck your anvirus and reboot
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i tryed that. I will have to see if it works like I said above this problem has happened twice in the past two weeks so I will have to wait a while to see if it works. One thing I forgot to mention is that last time it froze I was downloading songs from limewire as well as being on the internet. Do you think it could be a problem with limewire or my internet connection?
dlb is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 02:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Computer froze?

Quote:
Originally posted by dlb
Alright i was on the internet everything seems to operating properly when my computer just freezes, the mouse wouldnt move and the keyboard wouldnt work. This has happened twice now in the last two weeks. It has really got me woried since my computer is practically brand new. Any help would be great. Thanks.
use your warranty
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.