computer freeze - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2004, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 161
Default computer freeze

my computer freezes after 15 min of use...

(i use a 3d program..)

PIII 733 mhz
512 ram
radeon video card

any reasons why..?


mayaseattle is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6

Over heating?

Aristides1945 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Power supply problem if you ask me. Take your PSU into a local computer shop and have it tested.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 10:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 161
Default how do i found out what power is my comp running on..and if i take it to a shop..will they change it ? expensive is this?
mayaseattle is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 09:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17

well , before checking for the power supply, try clearing the startup items using msconfig and check that you do not have any spyware software installed on your computer . scan for virus and clear the temporary files, internet cookies and temporary internet files.
emotion11 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 11:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 161

thanks..i will clean the virus stuff...and then see if it still hangs... lets suppose its the power supply problem...

if i buy a new one..which is a good one to buy..which company and what kind do i need....i do graphic intensive work..mostly 3d...

i have a
pc III
733 mhz
512 ram

Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. CUSL2 REV 1.xx
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Award Software, Inc. ASUS CUSL2 ACPI BIOS Revision 1001.A 06/21/2000


whilst we on this topic....what do you all think of this board that I have...? it any good...worth the trouble to actually build something with it...? (asus tek listed above)

is it possible to know the model nos without opening up the computer...any software that reads details of your hardware installed..(i have Belarc..but that dosent give you ALL the details)..i want to know what power supply i many watts...
follow up

1. i have no idea how to run msconfig..(if you mean go to start-run-msconfig..i did that but it cant find the libraries
2. i ran avg free edition for viruses..didnt find any
3. i have cleaner 4.1...didnt find anything
4. spybot does find something known as dso exploit under

sooooo..i did have the trojan 32 virus but that hasnt shown up lately on Avg scan...


mayaseattle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.