Complicated problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default Complicated problem

I recently got a IBM Thinkpad R52 which has a superviser password that I don't know, and the boot order is set to just the main HD. In the installed XP system, I can only log in as a basic User with the most basic privledges.

I need to way to reset either the BIOS password or the Administrator password without rebooting or installing any programs (that's dissabled :-()

Sending the laptop away is also out of the question.

Thanks for any help.
__________________

Blown-Upp is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

UPDATE: You CAN install programs, they just diassabled installing chat programs O_o
__________________

Blown-Upp is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

erm.. i'm sure you didn't "buy" it? if you did, then they should give you admin password..

if this is for an organization, you shouldn't try to overcome the admin password, as i'm sure hte restrictions are there for you to not damage anything..

other than that, please give more details bios password is a bit harder to reset, especially if you have a laptop, as it involves tinkering with memory and such..

i'm not sure about admin password, i've never tried anything like that :|
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

School laptop program. They've gone to far in limiting what we can do...

Not sure what you mean by details but here it goes:
- Can get into BIOS, just can't change options
- Windows XP can only log in as user sence I don't know the admin password
- The default boot sequence is just the HD as first and nothing else (like I said, it can't be changed)

Not really sure what else you want...
Blown-Upp is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

mmm.. school laptop, well, better check to see why you can't have more privilage (as the laptop is owned by the school right? so they own the rights to it also)..

BIOS: i only know how to change password (that was when i forgot my password on a 5 years old problem, after hours of searching finally found it)..

Admin password: check google, i'm not sure, as there were never a need for me..

again, i'm not really sure why you can't change it.. it sounds wierd to me, as i have never seen an option that can do that :|
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Thing is it's the schools not yours so you shouldn't be tinkering with the passwords...
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

It's not the school's, they're ours, sence we bought them. They just mass buy them from IBM so we don't have to pay as much, and in the process they severly cripple them.

They're our machines, just bought through the school for a lower price.
Blown-Upp is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

go and ask for the restoration disk if you own it, they should provide everything pertaining to the unit..

or load your own OS if you want nad if you have the drivers..
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.