Burnt image not visible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2003, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Default Burnt image not visible

First off sorry if this has been asked before but I did a search and nothing came up.
I have been burning ISO images etc with nero and alchohol 120%. Unfortunatly the latest ones are not able to be seen once they are on the cd. The cd info says "523mb used 0 free" when i read the cd in the drive but there is nothing visible in the window. All my old stuff is ok and auto runs when I enter the cd but the new stuff just won't work. I have a samsung combo 332 b and it is up to date with drivers and firmware. What have I set wrong ? any ideas?
__________________

Monghead is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

What proggy are you using to burn the image?
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Default

I am using nero vers 6 (Demo) and alchohol 120%. Programs burnt with both don't show up although cd has data on.
Monghead is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Default

als o when I insert a burnt cd , it is read (the light spins) and the cd name changes from "Compact disc (D" to "CD (D"
Monghead is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 09:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Default

oops meant CD (D:)
Monghead is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 12:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i'm a bit confused. i think you are saying, any new cd's you make recently have no contents on them when trying to access them on the cd-rom drive right?

it sounds like some software is interferring with the cd-burning process. i don't know if reinstalling alchohol or nero would fix it but you can try. can you see the contents of the CD on another computer? it might just be easier to reinstall the operating sysem than trying to find out what is wrong with it, if that is an option for you.

can you remember if the problem happened after you install a program or updated a driver?

but than again..... that might not even solve your problem because you said you updated drivers AND firmware. this is a common mistake with computer users, they assume having the latest software is good. with computers and many other things in life newer is not always better. the old saying applies here, "don't fix it if it ain't broke". they only time i would update something is if there was a problem with it.

so basically what i am saying is that most likely the new drivers you installed is what's messing it up. you can either uninstall them, which sometimes might be imposibble. or you can reinstall windows after carefully saving all data on your computer.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 01:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Default

I have just tried to run them on another pc and got "device not accesible" message but putting in an audio or older game cd works fine. Did I have settings in nero wrong?
Monghead is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 01:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no i dont think your setting are wrong because using the alchohol program doesn't work either. i would think its because you updated a driver and that is causing some problems

i do not see any reason to update cd-rom/ dvd-rom drivers because they run fine without them. all that is needed to burn cd's/ dvd's is the burning software.

is there any way to uninstall the drivers? or do you know how to reinstall your operating system using a restore cd or operating system CD?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 04:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Default

I have tried to revert to the old driver but as soon as |I reboot windows installs the newer ones. I do have the recovery cd given by pc MFTR but what would that do if I just chose operating system restore?
Monghead is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 01:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i would guess it would just restore the operating sysem and MAYBE leave the applications alone. but don't trust my word on that, you might lose all of your applications and any files on the operating system drive. but if you save all you data to another drive i would just go for it, but instead use full recovery option to restore all the applications and operating system because i think the drivers are the problem. you would have to reinstall all the applications over again. this might be the only fix to your problem. it's really up to you what you try just remeber to save your data before you do, good luck
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.