BIOS update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default BIOS update

Hello,

I have never re-flashed a BIOS. Does this require a 3.5" floppy or can it be done from an optical drive?

I understand that it can be done with a USB flash drive also. I don't have either a 3.5 or a flash drive, but will go purchase today if necessary

I have been reading resources from the Asus (P5B Deluxe) website and google searches. I have attempted it via a CD using Nero software and had no luck (including a "bootable disk"). Is it like burning an ISO file?

Does anyone have any links or a brief description on how to go about this? The simpler the better

I posted another thread concerning an "Intel CPU uCode loading error" that I receive upon startup. The system runs and Prime95 ran overnight on the stock CPU (E6400) settings. After doing a lot of searching and reading I found that many people solved this problem with a BIOS update. I'm a rock and can't figure it out.

Please help an old dog learn a new trick. Thanks
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

http://support.asus.com/download/dow...2-SLI%20Deluxe

Download the BIOS update tool, download the BIOS update.....follow the instructions.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

I would use a floppy to update the bios, ive never done it using a cd drive but my friend did so....

My mobo lets me update the bios while in windows...
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
http://support.asus.com/download/dow...2-SLI%20Deluxe

Download the BIOS update tool, download the BIOS update.....follow the instructions.
Sorry, forgot to mention that this is an E6400 build with a P5B Deluxe MoBo.

To AMDSCORPIO,
This MoBo also has the same problem my A8N32-SLI Deluxe did. I can not install the Asus Automatic updates. Everytime that I do the OS returns an error "No Asus motherboard detected."

I never bothered fixing it on my A8N...board as I used the original BIOS without a hitch.

Any further input?
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

choose your mboard from the list...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.