Automatically set core affinity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default Automatically set core affinity

Is there a method or program that can automatically set core affinity for a process? I have a dual core opteron and some games wont work properly until I set affinity to a single core and going into task manager each time is inconvenient.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Go here http://www.robpol86.com/Pages/imagecfg.php

or


Dual-Core CPU Issues



If you run a dual core CPU, such as a Pentium D or AMD X2, or even a Pentium 4 with HyperThreading, you may notice that the game is quite jerky even at high framerates. Things seem to run fast and slow randomly - this is because the game has compatibility issues with dual core CPUs. So not only is there no performance boost with dual core CPUs, there are actually issues which require the following steps to be resolved:



Setting Processor Affinity Manually: Launch Need for Speed: Most Wanted, and as soon as the game appears to begin loading, or after it has loaded up, press CTRL+ALT+DEL to bring up the Task Manager. Under the Processes tab, find the Speed.exe process, right-click on it, select 'Set Affinity' and in the box which appears, untick 'CPU 1'.



Setting Processor Affinity Automatically: If you want to force the game to only use one of your CPUs automatically each and every time you run the game, see the instructions here for using the Imagecfg utility, a small Windows NT file you can safely copy into your \Windows\System32 directory and then use to permanently set the affinity for particular programs. I recommend you backup your speed.exe file before applying this tweak, as the only way to undo it is to restore the original .exe file. Furthermore, note that you may have to redo this tweak each time you patch the game, since the executable will change.



Both these methods basically force the system to effectively see, and use, only one of the CPU cores on your dual core CPU to run the game, thereby temporarily resolving this problem.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Automatically set core affinity

Quote:
Originally posted by aye29
Is there a method or program that can automatically set core affinity for a process? I have a dual core opteron and some games wont work properly until I set affinity to a single core and going into task manager each time is inconvenient.
computers were designed to compute. not play games
derrmc is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Re: Automatically set core affinity

Quote:
Originally posted by derrmc
computers were designed to compute. not play games
They are now....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: Re: Re: Automatically set core affinity

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
They are now....
Why can't we all just get along
220-221/what ever it takes
derrmc is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

We are.......
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.