Ahh Winxp formating - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2003, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Angry Ahh Winxp formating

What the hell is wrong with win xp and formatting, i go to open a command prompt {I Know it doesnt work but i thought ide try anyways} it basically said cant reformat because of windows is running so im like ya that makes sence, then i make a MSdos startup disk put it in my floppy drive restart, doesnt do anything just starts up winxp normally so next time i press F8 and chose to boot of floppy, try and type in "Format C:" it sais bad command file, for sum reason it had "A:\" before each line {Ive tryed MSdos startup disk and Windows 98 startup disk to try this} also the option on the winxp pro cd to totally install winxp again, it sais it will erase the hard drive IT DOESNT and install winxp clean ive tryed it like 3 times and no luck. So im wondering if anyone has accomplished this has any help??




Winxp pro
30 gig
512 ddr
2.4 ghz
48-24-48 burner
__________________

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

or back up everything, insert a disk that has Fdisk, a partition manager, into the drive, and destroy your partition. Then reinstall it, and if you want, make 2 partitions, one for data and one for system. Trust me you won't regret it.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

ya, i have partition magic 8, but im not to sure how to use it
i made a fdisk thats like 50megs for the Bootmagic{said i needed a Fat32 for it to work so i made a small partition for it} but i dont completely understand how it works, i tryed making a new partition and installing a new OS on that partition using the wizard Partition Magic uses but it hasnt bin worken, anyone that familiar with it can ya give me a step by step dummies guide to making a new partition and installing a new OS on it?
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

hmm sounds like a plan ill try that tommorow and tell ya how it goes
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Im with MB on this one,, get the 98 boot disk,,, add FORMAT to the boot disk and then start up your PC with the boot disk,,

follow the usual steps,, at the a:\ go to fdisk,, delete all partitions,, then create one primary,, the disk will be verified, then reboot with the start up disk still in the drive,,this time at the a:\ type in FORMAT C:

let it do its thing, then start your XP install ,,,

FRESH and CLEAN,,,

Ahhh ,, just like a fresh spring day,,,

Cheers
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Just to throw in my .02 cents, I am also with MB. I used to think that using things like PM8 were better.... no. They are a waste of time. If you want to use your time more wisely, find a tut on fdisk, read it, and go that route, not only will it be easier, it will be faster.

And if you don't want to hunt for a tut, it looks like CrashAbbott has the steps down.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 11:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

And another thing... dude, if i can destroy an NTFS partition w/ MS-DOS, you can too.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.