3DSM5 - Sooo slow, anyway to improve this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2004, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default 3DSM5 - Sooo slow, anyway to improve this?

I've tried it on two computers, both lacking in some areas...generalized, they are:

AMD Athalon 1700+ (~1.1GHz)
512MB DDR 2700
Windows XP Pro
Radeon 9500 Pro (128MB DDR)
(keep in mind, this one is a laptop)->
Intel P4 2.0GHz
256MB DDR 3200
Windows XP Pro
Radeon Mobility 7000

Anyhow, both run *extremely* slow--it takes several minutes to load the application, then to try and use it is just ridicleous, you click something, it takes ~15seconds to respond (each time you do anything).

I don't know how anything really compares, but I've got Adobe PS8 running fine (takes ~15 sec to load, then instant otherwise), Doom 3 runs with little lag.

I tried closing everything I possibly could before using 3DSM5, but it never helped.

Any suggestions?

Vormund is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48

Probably the systems are clogged with spyware and adware. Have you looked in the task manager to see what processes Windows is running? Checked for any viruses? If there are any suspicous programs that seem to be using up alot of Mem Usage, let me know or search for some more info on them.on Google or something.

Also, try a defrag. Located in, Start \ Accessories \ System Tools \ Disk Defragmenter. And run a disk cleanup, located in the same place.

There is a software named System Mechanic which will sort your system out. Goto http:\\www.iolo.com

Hope this helps ...


Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 08:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 83

If it turns out to be spyware that is doing it then clean out your system then get an active scanning program. I recommend spy sweeper.

overclocker is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 01:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178

Is Spy Sweeper any better than Ad-aware SE? I've used that for a long time--run it usually once a month.

As far as defraging, I've only done that once ever But that one time was for that program, and it made a slight difference, but still something bugging. My hard drive is about 98% full though, usually around 80% though...would that make a difference?

I recently ran a registry cleaner too, not that it should do much to the performance, but it found ~400 problems which it fixed. (Mainly just empty keys/non-existant programs).

I'll look at System Mechanics--probably go for their 30 day trial, can't hurt (or can it?! LoL)

Also, if anyone has any more ideas, let me know

Thanks for the help, Delboy and overclocker!
Vormund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.