xp on vista laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2007, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default xp on vista laptop?

well, i got a gateway mx8734 for graduation and every time i play WoW, my screen flickers every few mins making it really hard to play. ive tried all the solutions that were given to me and i finally decided to just install xp on my laptop. every time i got to install xp though, i am told that the hard drive was not found on the xp setup screen. i looked up the problem and saw that people said that its because the hard drive is sata adn you need to make a special setup disk with the sata drivers.

can anyone help me on that?
__________________

strikegun is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: xp on vista laptop?

not sure, try reformatting the HDD, i run xp on a vista laptop just fine though.

(im running a dell m1210 xps)

and sata is how its connected to your mobo, its most likely formatted in ntfs
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: xp on vista laptop?

strange the xp cd should have the drivers for the sata drive pre installed on the disk is it an old disk???

you could try a program called gparted its a linux boot cd that is exclusively a partition managing program reformat the previous rive using that and then try an install xp
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: xp on vista laptop?

get ubuntu and use the disk managemant program, i think it;s gparted, not sure. but the gparted disk doesn't work with the p965 series
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: xp on vista laptop?

well most linux distro's have gparted built in Its just the gparted disk is quicker to burn and write to cd then a whole distro
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: xp on vista laptop?

well, i decided to dual boot my system, but im having problems finding the SATA Native Support in my bios. ayone know where it is, cause its not on my bios =/.
__________________

strikegun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Laptop won't connect to XP network printer thesteeles Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 04-20-2007 01:55 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.