Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2008, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Angry Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

I've got my Toshiba Satellite XP machine set to turn off the display at 2 mins and go into stby in 3 mins and to hibernate after 5 mins via the control panel>power options. The laptop screen turns off after 2 mins just fine.

No matter what I do, I can't get this laptop to go into stby or hibernate. I've got it programmed to go into hibernate when I close the lid and that works fine. However, I don't always remember to close the lid nor should I have to since the machine should go into stby at 3 mins and hibernate in 5 mins. It went dead on me last night because I forgot to close the lid .

I've got a 2 yr old eMachines PC with XP that has the same problem about 50% of the time. These two computers are driving me nuts! My wife's old Averatec XP laptop goes into stby and hibernate just fine. Please help.

FWIW, the only application I have open is Firefox for surfing the internet. Nothing else!
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

Are you fully up to date with SP3 and all updates?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default

I just checked to make sure and I do have SP3. I'm on the Windows update site right now and the laptop is up to date on all updates.

This is bothering me so much . I've been watching my laptop's processes on the task manager and I'm noticing that the CPU % will go up to as high as 20-25% when I've got nothing going on with the computer but the task manager. Most of the time its in the single digits, though.

This is with Firefox closed and no other windows but the task manager open.

Even after turning all of the processes off the computer still won't go into stby or hibernate. AAAArrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhhhh !
dannyual767 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

Do you have third party software that is controlling your power options? We have toshiba laptops at work that come preinstalled with their own power management software, any changes you make to the windows power options doesn't affect them, we have to change the settings in toshibas' power management software to make them work.

EDIT: If you do you probably wouldn't know it was running as it auto starts when you fire up windows. Check the programs near where the time and date are stored on the start bar.
__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by [t..o..m] View Post
Do you have third party software that is controlling your power options? We have toshiba laptops at work that come preinstalled with their own power management software, any changes you make to the windows power options doesn't affect them, we have to change the settings in toshibas' power management software to make them work.

EDIT: If you do you probably wouldn't know it was running as it auto starts when you fire up windows. Check the programs near where the time and date are stored on the start bar.
Tom, no third party software that I know of. There is nothing down by the time and date that leads me to believe that anything is there.

As far as me being able to change the power options via the control panel goes-I can change the time to turn the monitor off but there is no effect with me changing the times for disc off, stby or hibernate.
dannyual767 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

What process is taking up that 20-25%? Cant help you if you dont tell us that kind of info.

Have you tried to go thru our guide?

http://www.techist.com/forums/f51/sp...2008-a-165828/
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

Standby and hibernate functionality is incredibly finicky, much more so than it should be. Just about any service or program running in the background could cause this problem. Unfortunately, the only way to narrow down which one is causing the problem is to start disabling things, a couple at a time, and see what happens.

I've seen this problem caused by any number of security applications such as anti-virus and firewall programs.
DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
What process is taking up that 20-25%? Cant help you if you dont tell us that kind of info.

Have you tried to go thru our guide?

http://www.techist.com/forums/f51/sp...2008-a-165828/
I've tried downloading the guide but my PC goes nuts as its trying to open it up. I can finally get it but I can't click on any of the links.

I just started my laptop back up to try to see if I could tell what process is using up the CPU. Wouldn't you know it? Its all quiet at 0-2% right now.
dannyual767 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

Try Safe Mode with networking. That should allow you to open the links as well go thru the guide.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 191
Default Re: Why won't my laptop go into standby or hibernate?

The spyware removal guide starts off by saying, "If you are using IE7 to go:"

I'm using Firefox. Will that make any difference?
__________________

dannyual767 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have You Ever Built a Laptop Sleeve Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 09-27-2008 11:28 AM
Windows Standby Problem SmellyOne Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-05-2007 05:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.