Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2008, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook

My girlfriend picked up a cheap Compaq Presario C500 Notebook just to browse the net and upload photos on. Its hardly capable of doing that none the less, we need to speed this thing up a bit. Its running Vista on a 512mb stick of ram, Im guessing thats where the problem lies. Laptops are foreign to me ive never messed with one before. Can someone link me up to some cheap ram that fits this notebook on newegg. 2gb preferably if that fits into this thing?

Thanks
__________________

amsoil is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook

It supports 1gb max

Compaq Presario C500 Notebook PC series specifications - HP Home & Home Office Products

DDR2 RAM supported only
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook

HP Notebook PCs -  Locating and Using the Product Name, Model Number, and Product Number 

Find #3

You can most likely use this: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Laptop Memory - Laptop Memory
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook

Alright thanks guys, Should i just buy one stick though?
amsoil is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 09:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook

I just did....
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrades for Compaq Presario C500 Notebook

Yeah my bad sorry i somehow managed to miss that link hah

Newegg.com - CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory - Laptop Memory

Will this work?
__________________

amsoil is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use Mac notebook as external moniter to another PC notebook? How? naash Apple and Mac 2 05-12-2008 09:15 PM
Need Driver: Compaq Presario C700T CTO Notebook PC InkiLab Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-25-2008 10:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.